Registration Renewals

Georgia Law requires that all auto tags be renewed within 30 days before owner’s birth date. Renewals after the deadlines are subject to a 10% penalty on the ad valorem tax due and a 25% tag penalty fee.

Note: Not receiving a renewal notice does not relieve the registered owner from the obligation to renew the vehicle’s registration by the due date. Penalties will not be waived because the owner did not receive a renewal notice.
 


Duplicate Registration


The vehicle's registered owner may obtain a duplicate registration from any Richmond County Tag Office with a valid driver's license and proof of insurance. The fee for a duplicate registration is $1.

Methods of Renewal

Internet


Tags can be renewed online using the Renewal Identification Number (RIN) printed on the front of your renewal notice.  
 
  • The RIN is needed to renew online. To find your RIN Click here.
  • To access your tag renewal fee amount Click here.

Telephone


Tags can be renewed  by telephone using your RIN and calling the Georgia Department of Revenue at 1-877-496-0249. This service is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Note:
Credit cards accepted online are American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa. The Georgia Department of Revenue charges a credit card convenience fee of 2.35% ($1 minimum fee) to use this service.

Mail


If renewing by mail, renewal payments should be mailed 30 days prior to the renewal date to allow time for processing. To ensure timely processing and to avoid penalties, carefully read the renewal notice for instructions and additional information. If a renewal is submitted without all the required information, it will be returned. Payment methods include personal checks or money orders.

Mail renewal payments to:
Richmond County Tax Commissioner
P.O. Box 1427
Augusta, GA 30903

Make checks and money orders payable to "Richmond County Tax Commissioner".
  

Cancelling Registration


A registered owner may cancel the registration at any time; however, it must be cancelled prior to terminating insurance in order to prevent any penalties.
Download the MV-18J form
  

When to Renew


View information on when to renew your vehicle registration.