- Motor Vehicle
COVID-19 UPDATE: With the recent developments of the COVID-19 virus and rapidly changing protocol, the Richmond County Tax Commissioner’s Office has SUSPENDED its’ Pilot Pick-up/Delivery Service until further notice.
Although our offices has remained closed to the public, we will continue to process dealer & lienholder transactions. Until further notice please mail, Fed Ex or UPS your transactions to the following address;
Richmond County TCO
Attn: Motor Vehicle Division
535 Telfair Street, Ste. 100
Augusta, GA 30901
Please make sure there is good contact information (Poc Name, Ph. No, & email address) enclosed within the packet. My staff will be in contact with that individual from each establishment with questions and to let them know when the transactions have been completed. Our return delivery will be regular mail.
The Motor Vehicle Registration Division serves as a tag agent on behalf of the Georgia Department of Revenue in collecting taxes. The Division serves to implement state and local laws regarding registration requirements, insurance, and mobile home ownership.
Title Ad Valorem Tax ("TAVT")
Motor Vehicles purchased on or after March 1, 2013 and titled in this state are exempt from sales and use tax and annual ad valorem tax, also known as the "birthday tax". These taxes are replaced by a one-time tax called the title ad valorem tax ("TAVT") that is imposed on the fair market value of the vehicle. TAVT is calculated by multiplying the fair market value by the current rate of 7%. To determine the estimated amount due Click here.
New residents to Georgia are required to register and title their motor vehicle and pay TAVT within 30 days of moving to the state.
- If there is a lienholder recorded on the title: The Georgia title will be printed and mailed to the lienholder when the TAVT is paid in full.
- If there is NO lienholder recorded on the title: The Georgia title will be printed and mailed to the registered owner when the TAVT is paid in full.
(If you need to cancel or replace a registration for any reason, you may do so here.)
Tags can be renewed online by clicking here. Kiosk
Tag renewals can be made at our kiosk in the Kroger on Washington Road.
Credit cards accepted online are American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa. The Georgia Department of Revenue charges a credit card convenience fee of 2.35% ($1 minimum fee) to use this service.
If renewing by mail, renewal payments should be mailed 30 days prior to the renewal date to allow time for processing. To ensure timely processing and to avoid penalties, carefully read the renewal notice for instructions and additional information. If a renewal is submitted without all the required information, it will be returned. Payment methods include personal checks or money orders.
Mail renewal payments to:
Richmond County Tax Commissioner
P.O. Box 1427
Augusta, GA 30903
Make checks and money orders payable to "Richmond County Tax Commissioner".
View a helpful Motor Vehicle Registration (PDF) brochure.
Driver's License Information
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) issues driver's licenses. Call 678-413-8400 or visit the DDS website website for more information.